Ch'ang Hon Taekwon-Do


Below is an explanation of the belt ranking system
in the traditional Korean martial art of Taekwon-Do.

In Taekwon-Do, character development, fortitude, tenacity, and technique are graded as well as the individual's physical capacity.  The military traditions of this art have created a foundation for the development of these traits.  This foundation is also carried over into the disciplined and consistent methods of how the student  ties the Taekwon-Do uniform belt and the system of rank that is adhered to in the art.  The promotional scale is divided into nineteen ranks - 10 grades (geups) and nine degrees (dans).  The geup levels begin with the lowest grade, 10th Geup White Belt (given to new students when they begin their training), and end at the highest grade, 1st Geup High Red Belt.  The degrees of Black Belt begin with the 1st Dan Black Belt and end with the ultimate, 9th Dan, Grand Master.

There is, of course, certain significance in the numbering system. With degrees, the number 9 is not only the highest among one digit numbers, but is also the number of 3 multiplied by 3.  In the Orient, three is the most esteemed of all the numbers.  The Chinese character representing three () is written as three horizontal lines stacked vertically.  The upper line symbolizes the heaven; the middle line, mortals; and the bottom line the earth.  It was believed that the individual who was successful in promoting his country, fellow man, and God, and able to reach an accord with all three would aspire to become the King.  The Chinese character for three () and king () are nearly synonymous. Additionally, when the number three is multiplied by itself, the result is nine (), the highest of the high.  Therefore, ninth degree is the highest of the high-ranking belts.  It is also interesting to note that when the number 9 is multiplied by any other single digit number, the resultant figures added together always equals 9 (i.e.  9x1=9,  9x2=18,  1+8=9,  and so on up to  9x9=81,  8+1=9 ).  Since this is the only single digit number having this property, it again points to the number 9 as being the most positive of figures.

Taking the use of the number three one-step further, the degrees are further divided into three distinct classes.  First through third degree are considered the novice stages of black belt.  These students are still merely beginners in comparison to the higher degrees.  At fourth degree, the student crosses the threshold of Taekwon-Do puberty and enters the expert class.  Seventh through ninth degree is composed of Taekwon-Do masters - the elite who fully understand all the particulars of Taekwon-Do, mental and physical.  The different degrees of black belt are denoted on the belts with embroidered with Roman numerals representing the specific dan level.

The 10 grades, or geup levels, are represented with five colors of belt, each color representing two geup levels.  The lowest of each of these levels is represented by the plain belt of that color - the highest is represented by the belt of that color with a colored stripe at the end of the belt.  These stripes are the color of the next potential rank, and are to be as wide as the belt is thick and placed as far from the end of the belt tip as the belt is wide.

There is perhaps one question that remains; why begin with the lowest of the two digit numbers, "10" why not begin with the lowest one digit number and proceed from first grade to ninth grade, and then begin again for degrees?  Though it would certainly be more logical, the 10 to 1 and 1 to 10 numerical system used in the Orient is ageless.  It would be impossible, if not even a bit impertinent, to attempt to change a practice that has even been carried into children's games.  Perhaps there was an initial logical reason for it: however, it seems to have been lost in antiquity.  Anyway, the number "10"  ()  is the lowest existing two-digit number: consequently, a beginner starts at this number rather than 11 or 12 which are numerically higher.

In the martial art of Taekwon-Do, students must test through the rank levels in the following order:


10th Geup - Low White Belt


 9th Geup - High White Belt (Yellow Stripe)


 8th Geup - Low Yellow Belt


 7th Geup - High Yellow Belt (Green Stripe)


 6th Geup - Low Green Belt


 5th Geup - High Green Belt
(Blue Stripe)


 4th Geup - Low Blue Belt


3rd Geup - High Blue Belt (Red Stripe)


 2nd Geup - Low Red Belt


 1st Geup - High Red Belt (Black Stripe)


 1st Dan - Black Belt 


 2nd Dan - Black Belt (Novice)


 3rd Dan - Black Belt (Novice)


 4th Dan - Black Belt (Expert)


 5th Dan - Black Belt (Expert)


 6th Dan - Black Belt (Expert)


 7th Dan - Black Belt (Master)


 8th Dan - Black Belt (Master)


 9th Dan - Black Belt (Grand Master)

Back to    
What is Taekwon-Do ?

Bamboo boarder